My wife just two days ago was scammed by the "seller" for this posting. Got scammed out of $450, before I was actually able to take a look at the emails and put it all together, unfortunately.
The "seller" communicates by using the email address "
spongalfred@yahoo.com" (Alfred Spong). Works with his "cousin" (the stateside associate), Elaine Smith.
Will claim Elaine's address is:
101 Bridewell Street
Los Angeles, CA 90018
After my wife sent cash by Western Union, it appears the ad was changed slightly. Ad then claims they are out of Lancaster, PA. I created another Yahoo account and contacted about the #300386 ad after it was changed and "inquired" about their puppies. Response originated from "Alfred Spong", as my wife got.
Being that I work in the IT field, and Defense Message System messaging is my expertise, I can work my way around message headers, etc..
"Alfred Spong" does his work from clients, using HTTP Yahoo web mail from the 41.219.xxx.xxx network (41.219.249.169 for my wife's case.. and 41.219.224.138 when he responded to me)
A quick WHOIS leads me that 41.219.xxx.xxx originates in none other than Nigeria.
Wife sent the cash Western Union Thursday and by time I stepped in, it was too late. I had filed a fraud case with Western Union Friday afternoon.
What steps do I need to take next? I do realize we most likely are out of the $450, but if there is anything we can do to track down who "Elaine Smith" is, I will do everything possible to put the heat on these scumbags.